Storage Strategy Working Group


This working group was established by the ITLC in response to an abrupt change in license renewal options from our current cloud storage provider (Box). Faced with licensing fees of approximately $1.3M, the ITLC sought to form this working group to establish both a storage strategy for campus as well as an exit strategy for the current cloud storage provider.


  • In Scope
    • Determining current campus storage strategy (if any for both on and off campus storage) and developing a forward thinking, long term strategy
    • Exit strategy plan for current cloud storage provider
    • Understanding utilization and costs of current storage options for campus
      • Out of Scope
        • Databases
        • Digital Asset Management Systems (DAMS)
        • Backup solutions (e.g. Crashplan)


Storage Strategy Officers

Bob GloydDirector of Information TechnologyCockrell School of Engineering
Charles SotoDirectorMoody College of

Storage Strategy Members

Joseph TrentDirectorDepartment of Computer
James LewisDirector of LAITS Computer SupportCollege of Liberal
Sam BurnsSenior IT ManagerSchool of
Phillip JaegerNetwork EngineerIntercollegiate
Leslie RodriguezAssociate Director of Information TechnologyOffice of Strategy and

Meeting Schedule



Documents and Minutes

Storage Strategy Working Group Charter