IT Resources and Community Questions
For information on the latest IT-related resources and questions regarding the campus response to the COVID-19 situation, please visit:
IT Resources Questions & Answers

Storage Strategy Working Group

Charge

This working group was established by the ITLC in response to an abrupt change in license renewal options from our current cloud storage provider (Box). Faced with licensing fees of approximately $1.3M, the ITLC sought to form this working group to establish both a storage strategy for campus as well as an exit strategy for the current cloud storage provider.

Scope/Boundaries

  • In Scope
    • Determining current campus storage strategy (if any for both on and off campus storage) and developing a forward thinking, long term strategy
    • Exit strategy plan for current cloud storage provider
    • Understanding utilization and costs of current storage options for campus
      • Out of Scope
        • Databases
        • Digital Asset Management Systems (DAMS)
        • Backup solutions (e.g. Crashplan)

 

Storage Strategy Officers

Chair
Bob Gloyd Director of Information Technology Cockrell School of Engineering     bobgloyd@utexas.edu
Co-Chair
Charles Soto Director Moody College of Communication charles.soto@austin.utexas.edu

Storage Strategy Members

Members
Joseph Trent Director Department of Computer Science yyz@cs.utexas.edu
James Lewis Director of LAITS Computer Support College of Liberal Arts jlewis@austin.utexas.edu
Sam Burns Senior IT Manager School of Information sburns@ischool.utexas.edu
Phillip Jaeger Network Engineer Intercollegiate Athletics phillip@utexas.edu
Roy Ruiz Director Financial and Administrative Services roy.ruiz@austin.utexas.edu
Leslie Rodriguez Associate Director of Information Technology Office of Strategy and Policy leslie.rodriguez@austin.utexas.edu