Endpoint Management


The Endpoint Management Committee shall evaluate and make recommendations regarding the tools, practices and methods the university uses   to detect, provision, deploy, update, and troubleshoot its endpoint devices.


  • Development of a framework for evaluation of recommended tools and solutions.
  • Development of recommended solutions and best practices for on-and off-campus management of end-user devices (macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android), including:
    • System Hardening
    • Vulnerability Management and Patching
    • Change Management for Systems Configuration
    • Remote Access
    • Configuration Management
    • OS and Application Deployment
    • Device Inventory
    • Malware Protection
    • Mobile Device Management
    • Backup
  • Development of standard campus-wide methods for reporting on end user devices, particularly from common platforms including SCCM, JAMF, Ivanti, Nessus and CiscoAMP.
  • Review and/or develop support and funding models for widely adopted endpoint management tools, including JAMF, SCCM, Bomgar, Apple School Manager,SCCM, CiscoAMP and Crashplan.
  • Establishment of ‘Community of Practice’ endpoint management technical advisory group.


James Lewis Director of LAITS Computer Support College of Liberal Arts jlewis@austin.utexas.edu
Roy Ruiz Director of Technology Resources Technology Resources roy.ruiz@austin.utexas.edu

Endpoint Management Committee Members

James Coombes McCombs Computer Services Director - Server, Tech Support, Lab Operations     Red McCombs School of Business     james.coombes@mccombs.utexas.edu
Melissa Medina-Razzaque Senior Information Technology Manager College of Natural Sciences melirazzaque@utexas.edu
Chris Owan Senior Information Technology Manager     ITS Campus Solutions     cowan@austin.utexas.edu
Star Salzman Deputy Information Security Officer Information Security Office  star@utexas.edu
Nathan Selman Senior Systems Administrator Cockrell School of Engineering nathaniel.selman@austin.utexas.edu
Charles Soto Director  Moody College of Communication charles.soto@austin.utexas.edu
Joe Trent Director Department of Computer Science yyz@cs.utexas.edu

Technical Advisory Group

Elyes Benhamou Senior Systems Administrator Red McCombs School of Business elyes.benhamou@mccombs.utexas.edu
Alex Cruz Director Intercollegiate Athletics cruz@utexas.edu
James Cutrone Systems Administrator Education jamesc@austin.utexas.edu
Todd Mote Principal Systems Administrator ITS Campus Solutions moter@austin.utexas.edu