IT Resources and Community Questions
For information on the latest IT-related resources and questions regarding the campus response to the COVID-19 situation, please visit:
IT Resources Questions & Answers

Endpoint Management

Charge

The Endpoint Management Committee shall evaluate and make recommendations regarding the tools, practices and methods the university uses   to detect, provision, deploy, update, and troubleshoot its endpoint devices.

Scope/Boundaries

  • Development of a framework for evaluation of recommended tools and solutions.
  • Development of recommended solutions and best practices for on-and off-campus management of end-user devices (macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android), including:
    • System Hardening
    • Vulnerability Management and Patching
    • Change Management for Systems Configuration
    • Remote Access
    • Configuration Management
    • OS and Application Deployment
    • Device Inventory
    • Malware Protection
    • Mobile Device Management
    • Backup
  • Development of standard campus-wide methods for reporting on end user devices, particularly from common platforms including SCCM, JAMF, Ivanti, Nessus and CiscoAMP.
  • Review and/or develop support and funding models for widely adopted endpoint management tools, including JAMF, SCCM, Bomgar, Apple School Manager,SCCM, CiscoAMP and Crashplan.
  • Establishment of ‘Community of Practice’ endpoint management technical advisory group.

Membership

Chair
James Lewis Director of LAITS Computer Support College of Liberal Arts jlewis@austin.utexas.edu
Co-Chair
Roy Ruiz Director of Technology Resources Technology Resources roy.ruiz@austin.utexas.edu

Endpoint Management Committee Members

Members
James Coombes McCombs Computer Services Director - Server, Tech Support, Lab Operations     Red McCombs School of Business     james.coombes@mccombs.utexas.edu
Melissa Medina-Razzaque Senior Information Technology Manager College of Natural Sciences melirazzaque@utexas.edu
Chris Owan Senior Information Technology Manager     ITS Campus Solutions     cowan@austin.utexas.edu
Star Salzman Deputy Information Security Officer Information Security Office  star@utexas.edu
Nathan Selman Senior Systems Administrator Cockrell School of Engineering nathaniel.selman@austin.utexas.edu
Charles Soto Director  Moody College of Communication charles.soto@austin.utexas.edu
Joe Trent Director Department of Computer Science yyz@cs.utexas.edu

Technical Advisory Group

Members
Elyes Benhamou Senior Systems Administrator Red McCombs School of Business elyes.benhamou@mccombs.utexas.edu
Ben Catchings Senior Systems Manager College of Liberal Arts bcatchings@austin.utexas.edu
Alex Cruz Director Intercollegiate Athletics cruz@utexas.edu
James Cutrone Systems Administrator Education jamesc@austin.utexas.edu
Matthew Davidson Information Technology Manager Information Technology Manager matt.davidson@austin.utexas.edu
Matthew Jenkins Systems Administrator Technology Resources mjenkins@austin.utexas.edu
Todd Mote Principal Systems Administrator ITS Campus Solutions moter@austin.utexas.edu