Provide input, oversight, and guidance for networking and telecommunications services to advance the mission of the University of Texas.


Committee responsibilities include:

  • Strategic Direction
    • Recommend broad goals and objectives for network and telecommunications. Review, update and report on outcomes to ITLC biennially.
    • Evaluate strategic risks.
    • Identify and recommend common good services.
    • Identify fee-based services (keeping in mind the 80/20 approach).
  • Evaluate Performance and Service
    • Define SMART (Specific Measurable Actionable Responsive and Timely) KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) and Metrics to ensure services in alignment with the strategic goals. Review and report to ITLC yearly.
  • Guidelines
    • Participate in biennial review of the Network Operations Manual.
    • Endorsement by ITLC.
  • Communication
    • Identify issues and topics, acting as a forum for those and other referred items from the ITLC.
    • Solicit feedback from the IT and broader university community on services, topics and issues (e.g. open meetings, focus groups, surveys, presentations).
    • Organize, publish and disseminate committee decisions and recommendations.
  • Form working groups as necessary to accomplish charge.


At least seven members representing CSUs, ITS Networking, ISO, and campus research units.

Networking Committee Officers

John LovelaceDirector of Networking and Telecommunications and Office of Telecommunication ServicesITS Networking and Office of
James LewisDirector of LAITS Computer SupportCollege of Liberal

Networking Committee Members

Ryan BaldwinDirector of Information
Matt DavidsonTechnology ArchitectCollege of Natural
Sandra GermenisNextGen Network Program ManagerITS
Phillip JaegerSenior IT Systems AdministratorIntercollegiate
Brad JohnstonInformation Technology DirectorCollege of Fine
Jason RaglandSenior Network Security AnalystInformation Security
Nathan SelmanAssistant DirectorCockrell School of
Shannon StrankAssistant DirectorCenter for